rejected by the French Assembly in August 1954. On May 6, 1955, the Federal Republic of Germany deposited in Washington its instrument of accession to the North Atlantic Treaty and thus joined NATO as its fifteenth member.

The terms of the Treaty and the organization of the Council and subordinate committees are dealt with in the 1954 Year Book at pp. 113-115.

Developments during 1955-57.\*—The North Atlantic Council continued in permanent session at Paris, France, under the chairmanship of the Secretary-General Lord Ismay. Mr. L. D. Wilgress remained the Permanent Representative of Canada to the Council. In addition to the regular meetings of the Permanent Representatives, the Council met in Ministerial Session at Paris in December 1955, in May 1956 and again in December of that year.

These Ministerial meetings afforded the Foreign and Defence Ministers of the NATO countries a useful opportunity to exchange views on the current political developments affecting the Alliance, and to review the progress made in maintaining and developing an effective military organization to assure the security of its members. 1956 was of particular importance since it witnessed the beginning of a reappraisal of NATO military planning, designed to take into account NATO's most recent estimates of Soviet intentions and capabilities, and the various types of new weapons available for NATO defence. Of particular interest was the approval of a political directive regarding future military planning, which reaffirmed inter alia that NATO, as a defensive alliance, should have sufficient land forces in Europe to act as a shield against any sudden aggression, adequate air and naval forces to retaliate against the aggressor, nuclear weapons for use in the event of overt Soviet military aggression, and the ability to deal locally with situations short of all-out war such as infiltrations, incursions and limited hostile actions. Consideration was also given to the increasing cost of defence and to the problems involved in trying to maintain large conventional forces to deal with limited attacks, in addition to forces equipped with atomic and nuclear weapons.

In their survey of the military capabilities of the Alliance and their assessment of the progress achieved during 1956, member governments found the situation generally encouraging, and noted with particular approval the efforts made by the NATO military authorities to provide NATO forces with new modern weapons.

NATO's activities during the period under review were also marked by the efforts of member governments to improve and extend NATO co-operation in non-military fields, and to develop greater unity within the Atlantic community. The North Atlantic Council appointed at its meeting in May 1956 a Committee of Three Ministers, consisting of Dr. Martino, the Foreign Minister of Italy, Mr. Halvard Lange, Foreign Minister of Norway and the Hon, L. B. Pearson, then Secretary of State for External Affairs for Canada, to advise the Council on ways and means to achieve these objectives. With the aid of questionnaires, supplemented by consultations at the ministerial level with representatives of the other NATO governments, the Committee of Three submitted a report which was approved in principle by the Ministers at the meeting of December 1956 and all recommendations accepted. The report was an important landmark in the development of NATO activities in the non-military field. It stressed the need of members of the Alliance in present circumstances to develop common policies by full and timely consultation on issues of common concern. The appointment of Mr. Paul-Henri Spaak as Secretary-General of the Organization, in succession to Lord Ismay, gave added significance to the approval accorded the recommendations of the Committee of Three for wider authority and powers for the Secretary-General. This office has now become a political as well as an administrative one.

Thus the period under review has been extremely active for the NATO Alliance and the Organization, despite differences which any group of fifteen sovereign countries is bound to experience from time to time, still displays much resiliency, and continues to be as necessary, in the face of Soviet policy and actions in Europe and elsewhere, as it was at the time of its establishment in 1949.

<sup>\*</sup> June 1, 1955 to Apr. 30, 1957.